The Award of Excellence (For the Most Outstanding Project)

The Award of Excellence (for the most outstanding project) recognizes individuals for a project which has had the greatest impact on a University. The project should be innovative and cost effective (model for others to follow). Application to other universities would be desirable.

This award is to recognize professional accomplishment and to publicize and promote creative and innovative approaches to serving the real estate needs of universities.

Form of the Award: 

The form of the award shall be determined by the officers of AUREO each time an individual is designated to receive the award.

Frequency of the Award: 

This award will be presented at the AUREO Annual Conference and is for activities completed or substantially completed during the previous calendar year.

Award Selection Process: 

The members of AUREO shall nominate individuals to receive the Award of Excellence for the most outstanding project.

The selection committee shall then select the recipient.

Eligibility to Receive Award: 

Member of AUREO and active in real estate project(s) of the University. The real estate officer or office must have played a significant role in design and/or implementation of the project. The project must have reached a major milestone during the period being recognized. Teamwork with other members of AUREO, the university, the real estate office, community and/or other interested entities is encouraged.

Award Selection Criteria: 

Individuals shall be selected to receive the award based on their contributions to AUREO and its member institutions, the professional development of the real estate function within higher education and their interaction with the individual members of AUREO. Letters of support for projects from the university are recommended.

Award Recipients:
Not Presented 2014
Sandy Vaughan-Acton
for their work on Innovation Village, Cal Poly Pomona’s 65 acre Research Park Development.
California State Polytechnic University, Pomona 2013
J. Dorsey
for their work on Development of UGA’s Health Sciences Campus: Acquisition and Reuse of Former Navy School Facilities.
University of Georgia 2013
Award of Excellence - 2008 - Steve Kennard 2008
Steven Lee Nielsen
for their work on Marina Heights Project.
Arizona State University 2007
David McDonough
for their work on Charles Commons Project.
Johns Hopkins University 2007
Michael Geller
for their work on UniverCity.
Simon Fraser University 2005
Award of Excellence - 2005 - Richard Berliner 2005
Anne Lenzotti Ohio State University 2004
Fred W. Pierce
for their work on Fraternity Row.
San Diego State University Foundation 2003
Ellen Hamilton
for their work on South Campus Expansion.
University of Illinois At Chicago (UIC) 2002
Robert Hatheway
for their work on Research University for the 21st Century.
University of California-Merced 2002